top of page

The Peace Image of the Year 2024

Global Peace Photo Award

• Deadline: May 19th, 2024

• Prize: €7,000 + Exhibition in Austria

• Theme: Peaceful Coexistence

• Entry Fees: Free


The Peace Image of the Year 2024

What do we envision when we speak of inner peace, harmonious coexistence, communal tranquility, and peaceful relations between nations? While many prestigious photography awards often spotlight conflicts, crises, wars, and disasters plaguing our world, they typically overlook the myriad of positive human capacities. Bridging this gap is the Global Peace Photo Award, originally launched in 2013 as the Alfred Fried Photography Award. This esteemed recognition showcases the multifaceted nature of peace, complementing humanity's narrative by showcasing its benevolent aspects. It celebrates imagery depicting triumphs over failures, empathy prevailing over animosity, preservation over destruction, encouragement over despair, and the fundamental human right to beauty.

The Global Peace Photo Award doesn't indulge in escapism with idyllic landscapes or serene sunsets, nor does it seek the sweetest smiles. It also refrains from critiquing informative reportage photography that inherently captures the world's hardships. Rather, it inspires professional photographers to depict, at the highest level, sources of hope: from individual efforts aiding refugees to impactful development initiatives; from scenes of personal joy to displays of communal solidarity; from battling poverty to successful conservation endeavors; from quiet retreats fostering peace to spirited protests against injustice; from groundbreaking strides in healthcare and environmental preservation to the revitalization of war-torn cities. This award celebrates humanity's capacity for compassion and support, drawing inspiration from Nobel Peace Laureates Alfred Fried and Tobias Asser.

Alfred Hermann Fried (born November 11, 1864, Vienna; died May 4, 1921, Vienna) was an Austrian pacifist and author. He founded the journal "Die Waffen nieder!" (Lay down your arms!) and engaged in various peace initiatives, earning the Nobel Peace Prize in 1911. He shared the honor with Tobias Michael Carel Asser (born April 28, 1838, Amsterdam; died July 29, 1913, The Hague), who organized the first International The Hague Peace Conference and played a pivotal role in establishing the Permanent Court of Arbitration.


bottom of page