top of page

Prix Viviane Esders Edition 2024

Prix Viviane Esders

• Deadline: April 29th 2024

• Prize: €60,000 + Exhibition in France

• Category: Over 40 Years Experience

• Entry Fee: Free


Viviane Esders, drawing from over four decades in the art market as a gallery owner, photography expert, and collector, established the Prix Viviane Esders.

The Prix Viviane Esders is granted to a photographer with a 40-year career, showcasing a distinctive personal style and artistic approach. It favors entries that exhibit a probing perspective on the image, a unique non-documentary reflection, and a profound commitment. The €60,000 prize (€50,000 for the winner and €5,000 for each of the two runners-up) is specifically designed to support photographers in need of financial assistance to continue their creative endeavors.

A jury composed of five personalities connected to the art world will choose the winner from five nominated photographers, including Viviane Esders. This exceptional grant celebrates career continuity and encourages collaboration. The winner is required to allocate €10,000 of the grant toward producing a book.

The Prix Viviane Esders aims to spotlight the vision and life journey of photographers, artists whose medium has been a constant source of inspiration for Viviane Esders since the 1980s. This award symbolizes the convergence of two interrelated life paths: that of its founder, devoted to understanding, appreciating, and exhibiting photographers, and that of a photographer, devoted to creation with the aspiration of producing a work of art.

Falling under the programs developed by the endowment fund established by Viviane Esders, this prize perpetuates the founder's contribution to photography, fosters a collection of nearly 600 unique pieces resulting from significant encounters, and extends initiatives of transmission and sharing centered around Viviane Esders' love for photography. After awarding Mario Carnicelli in 2022 and Pierre de Vallombreuse in 2023, this year's winner will be selected from three nominees by a distinguished jury. The recipient will receive an endowment of €50,000, while each of the two finalists will be granted €5,000. The call for entries for the third edition is open from January 22 to April 29, 2024.


bottom of page