top of page

Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards

Kraszna-Krausz Foundation

• Deadline: 3rd March, 2023

• Prize: £5,000

• Entry Fees: Free

• REGISTRATION: CLOSED, Click HERE For More Opportunities

The Prizes: The annual Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards honor individuals or groups of individuals who, in the opinion of the Judges, have made an outstanding original or lasting contribution to the literature of or pertaining to the art and practice of photography or the moving image. These awards are meant to honor excellence in publishing related to photography and the moving image. Two titles are chosen as winners; one in the field of photography and one in the field of the moving image (which includes digital media, film, and television).

Eligibility Books must meet the following requirements:

Between January 1 and December 31, 2022, the book must be published. The publication year is determined by the copyright date on the colophon.

The book must have been published, distributed, or made available for purchase in the UK, including online.

All text in books written in a language other than English must be translated into English. Translations into English that were first published during the qualifying period are eligible.

Images-only books are not eligible for the Photography Book award, so submissions must contain significant textual content.

Authors, collectives, publishers, and individuals self-publishing their work are all welcome to submit work. The minimum print run for self-published titles must have been 100 copies.

Up to six distinct titles may be submitted by publishers.

Books in new editions are eligible. The original or earlier editions should not have been long-listed for the awards, and reprints or revised books should contain a lot of new content.

Timeline for Awards Each year, the Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards are presented. The 2023 Awards now accept submissions.

The entry form and digital files must be submitted by Friday, March 3, 2023.

– Copies of the book must be postmarked by Friday, March 10, 2023.

In most cases, the longlisted and shortlisted titles are announced in the spring, while the winners are typically announced in the early summer. In the fall of 2023, celebrations of the awards for 2023 will take place. Please check back or sign up for our newsletter to receive updates on the format and date of the 2023 Award events.

How to enter The 2023 Awards now accept submissions from authors, collectives, publishers, and individuals self-publishing their work. There is no cost to enter.

The entry form and instructions for how to submit it can be downloaded below. The following steps must be taken in order to enter a book:

Send three hard copies of the submitted title (once eligibility is confirmed) in addition to a digital sample or pdf of the book and five high-resolution files from the book (including the book cover).


bottom of page