top of page

Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award

International Women's Media Foundation

• Deadline: March 3rd, 2023

• Prize: Showcase + $20,000

• Category: Photojournalism

• Entry Fees: Free

• REGISTRATION: CLOSED, Click HERE For More Opportunities

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was established to pay tribute to the life and work of Anja Niedringhaus, a Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer who also won the IWMF Courage in Journalism Award (1965–2014). The IWMF honors the brave work of women photojournalists like Anja with this award. The Award honors the significance of visual journalism that motivates us to take action and deepens our comprehension of the world. The Award, established in 2014 with a $1 million donation from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, will be presented annually to a woman photojournalist whose work, like Anja's, exemplifies courage and dedication. The winner of the Award will be recognized in public, have her work displayed, and receive a $20,000 cash prize.

Paula Bronstein, a seasoned freelance photojournalist, is the 2022 recipient of the Anja Niedringhaus Award. Farzana Wahidy (Afghanistan) and Carol Guzy (U.S.) received honorable mentions.


bottom of page