top of page

Prix Viviane Esders Edition 2024 - Call For Entries

Prix Viviane Esders

• Deadline: April 29th 2024

• Prize: €60,000 + Exhibition in France

• Category: Over 40 Years Experience

• Entry Fee: Free


With more than four decades of experience as a gallery owner, photography expert, and collector in the art market, Viviane Esders founded the Prix Viviane Esders.

The Prix Viviane Esders is dedicated to photographers with a 40-year career distinguished by a unique personal style and artistic approach. It gives preference to entries that exhibit a thought-provoking perspective on the image, a distinct non-documentary reflection, and a profound commitment. The prize of €60,000 (€50,000 for the winner and €5,000 for each of the two runners-up) is specifically designed to provide financial support to photographers in need.

A jury comprising five personalities from the art world, including Viviane Esders, will select the winner from five nominated photographers. This special grant celebrates career longevity and encourages collaboration. The winner is required to allocate €10,000 of the grant toward the production of a book.

The Prix Viviane Esders aims to spotlight the vision and life journey of photographers, artists whose medium has been a constant source of inspiration for Viviane Esders since the 1980s. This award symbolizes the convergence of two interrelated life paths: that of its founder, dedicated to understanding, appreciating, and exhibiting photographers, and that of a photographer, devoted to creation with the aspiration of producing a work of art.

Falling within the framework of programs developed by the endowment fund established by Viviane Esders, this prize perpetuates the founder's contribution to photography, fosters a collection of nearly 600 unique pieces resulting from significant encounters, and extends initiatives of transmission and sharing centered around Viviane Esders' love for photography. After awarding Mario Carnicelli in 2022 and Pierre de Vallombreuse in 2023, the winner of this year will be chosen from three nominees by a distinguished jury. The recipient will receive an endowment of €50,000, while each of the two finalists will be granted €5,000. The call for entries for the third edition is open from January 22 to April 29, 2024.


bottom of page